DyslexiaTalk Davis Dyslexia & Learning Discussion Board
Topics Topics       Tree View Tree View        Search Recent Posts: 1|3|7 Days        Search Search      
Edit ProfileRegistration & Profile       Help/Instructions Help            ||     Follow us on:   DDAI Facebook Group Davis Dyslexia on Twitter

Homeschooling Curriculum for Dyslexic...

Davis Dyslexia Discussion Board » Early Learning, Preschool and Primary Grades » General Discussion: Teaching Methods and Strategies » Homeschooling Curriculum for Dyslexic Children « Previous Next »

Qfamily
Username: Qfamily

Post Number: 2
Posted on Friday, May 02, 2008 - 04:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

HELP! All those of you homeschooling dyslexic children. I have been homeschooling for 9 years and have been using ABeka curriculum. This has worked great for my 13 year old daughter, but NOT for my 9 year old son, Bryan, who is wonderfully dyslexic. Bryan just finished the week long Davis Dyslexia Correction Course, and now we need to find a curriculum that better suits HIS learning style! I cannot seem to find a language arts curriculum that is NOT phonics based! I saw a reference on this discussion board to Time 4 Learning, an online program. My son does enjoy interactive computer programs, but it is my understanding that Time 4 Learning IS a phonics based program. Also, I've seen references to Math U See for math - any comments on that program? Thank you so much for your help. We both love the Davis tools but need some ideas where to go from there in our homeschool program.

Ramsey
Username: Ramsey

Post Number: 14
Posted on Saturday, May 03, 2008 - 12:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)